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STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA 

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
300A Outlet Pointe Blvd., Columbia, South Carolina 29210 

P.O. Box 12265, Columbia, South Carolina 29211 
 
 
 
 

SC REVENUE RULING #16-9 
 
 
SUBJECT: Purchases by Individuals 85 Years of Age and Older 

(Sales and Use Tax) 
 
EFFECTIVE DATE: Applies to all periods open under the statute. 
 
SUPERSEDES: SC Revenue Ruling #08-5 
 
REFERENCES: Chapter 36 of Title 12 (2014; Supp. 2015) 
 
AUTHORITY: S.C. Code Ann. Section 12-4-320 (2014) 

S.C. Code Ann. Section 1-23-10(4) (2005) 
SC Revenue Procedure #09-3 

 
SCOPE: The purpose of a Revenue Ruling is to provide guidance to the 

public. It is an advisory opinion issued to apply principles of 
tax law to a set of facts or general category of taxpayers. It is 
the Department’s position until superseded or modified by a 
change in statute, regulation, court decision, or another 
Department advisory opinion. 

 
 
GENERAL OVERVIEW OF TAXES IMPOSED ON PURCHASES  
 
State Sales and Use Tax.1 South Carolina imposes a 6% sales tax on the gross proceeds 
of sales of every person engaged in the business of selling tangible personal property at 
retail. The retailer is liable for the tax. South Carolina imposes a complimentary 6% use 
tax on the sales price of tangible personal property purchased at retail for storage, use, or 
other consumption in South Carolina, regardless of whether the retailer is engaged in 
business in South Carolina. The use tax is the liability of the purchaser.  
 
In addition to applying to the sale or use of tangible personal property (e.g., furniture, 
clothing, computers, etc.) the sales and use taxes also apply to certain communication 
services, laundry and drycleaning services, and the furnishing of accommodations. 
 

                                                           
1 Code Sections 12-36-910, 12-36-1110, and 12-36-1310. 
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Sales Tax on Accommodations and Additional Guest Charges.2 South Carolina 
imposes a 7% sales tax on charges for any rooms, lodgings, or sleeping accommodations 
for less than 90 days to the same person and a 6% sales tax on “additional guest charges” 
added to the guest’s room charge for certain specific amenities or services.  
 
Local Sales and Use Taxes. Local governments have limited authority to levy local taxes 
and fees for various purposes. The Department administers and collects certain local sales 
and use taxes on behalf of local jurisdictions. The Department provides a chart listing the 
current local sales and use taxes collected by the Department and exemptions allowed 
under each tax. The most recent information is published in an Information Letter that 
can be found on the Department’s website. In addition, some counties and municipalities 
administer and collect certain local taxes, such as a local hospitality tax on prepared 
meals and food or a local accommodations tax in addition to the state tax. These local 
taxes are not discussed in this document.  
 
$300 “Cap”(Maximum Sales or Use Tax).3 Certain sales or leases of tangible personal 
property are subject to a maximum sales or use tax of $300. The $300 sales or use tax 
amount (“cap”) applies to specifically authorized items, such as motor vehicles, 
recreational vehicles, and boats. The maximum tax does not apply to certain items, such 
as golf carts, boat trailers, and all-terrain vehicles. Sales of items subject to the maximum 
tax are exempt from local sales and use taxes.  
 
Casual Excise Tax.4 Motor vehicles, boats, and boat motors purchased from a non-
retailer (typically an individual) are subject to a “casual excise tax” (rather than a use tax) 
for the issuance of a title or proof of ownership. The casual excise tax rate is 5%5 (not to 
exceed $300) for items that qualify for the maximum tax, such as a motor vehicle, and 
6% for items that do not qualify for the maximum tax, such as a boat motor sold alone. 
Sales of items subject to the maximum tax are exempt from local sales and use taxes. 
Local taxes may apply to sales of items not subject to the maximum tax, such as a boat 
motor.  
 
PURPOSE OF ADVISORY OPINION – Reduction in Sales, Use and Casual Excise 
Tax Rate for Purchases by Individuals 85 and Older.6  
 
South Carolina sales and use tax law provides a lower state tax rate for purchases by 
individuals 85 years of age and older for their personal use. The lower sales and use tax 
rate, sometimes referred to as the “1% exclusion” or “1% reduction” for individuals 85 

                                                           
2 Code Section 12-36-920(A) and (B). Code Section 12-36-1110 increased the state sales and use tax rate 
by 1% beginning June 1, 2007, from 5% to 6% for most items. The 1% increase did not apply to the tax on 
the rental of accommodations under Code Section 12-36-920(A), but the 1% increase did apply to the sales 
tax on additional guest charges under Code Section 12-36-920(B).  
3 Code Section 12-36-2110. 
4 Code Section 12-36-1710. 
5 Code Section 12-36-1110. This statute increased the state sales and use tax rate by 1% beginning June 1, 
2007, from 5% to 6% for most items. The 1% increase did not apply to items subject to a maximum sales 
and use tax. 
6Code Sections 12-36-2620, 12-36-2630 and 12-36-2640. 
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years of age and older, does not apply to local taxes administered and collected by the 
Department on behalf of local jurisdictions or to local sales taxes administered and 
collected directly by a city or county (i.e., the local hospitality tax/fee on prepared meals 
and food or the local accommodations tax/fee). 
 
The purpose of this advisory opinion is to provide general guidance as to the 
requirements of the 1% reduction for qualifying individuals and the application of the 1% 
reduction to routine purchases made by individuals age 85 and older. It is not intended to 
address every issue an individual may encounter.  
 
This question and answer document is divided into the following parts: 
1. Procedure to Request and Receive Lower Tax Rate 
2. Applicability to Common Purchases 
3. Retailer Requirements 
4. Examples and Additional Guidance 
 
 
PART I – PROCEDURE TO REQUEST AND RECEIVE LOWER TAX RATE 
 
1. Q. How does an individual 85 years of age or older request the 1% lower state sales 

and use tax rate? 
 

A. South Carolina Code Sections 12-36-2620, 12-36-2630, and 12-36-2640 provide 
for the 1% lower state sales and use tax rate for individuals 85 years of age or 
older. The law does not require the purchaser to complete any form with the 
Department. It only requires that: 

 
a. the individual purchases the tangible personal property himself; 
 
b. the tangible personal property is purchased for his personal use; 
 
c. the purchaser requests the exclusion at the time of the sale; and 
 
d. the purchaser provides the retailer with proof of age. 
 

2. Q.  Does the lower state sales and use tax rate apply to phone, mail order, and internet 
purchases by an individual 85 years of age or older? 
 

A. Yes, providing the individual meets the requirements in Question 1, the lower rate 
applies to phone, mail, or internet purchases. 

 
3. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older fails to request the lower state sales and 

use tax rate and therefore does not receive the lower tax rate at the time of 
purchase, may that individual subsequently request a refund of the 1% state tax? 

 
A. No. The lower state rate is only available if an individual 85 years of age or older 

requests the lower state sales and use tax rate at the time of purchase. 
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4.  Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older fails to provide proof of age at the time of 
purchase and therefore does not receive the lower state sales and use tax rate, may 
that individual subsequently request a refund of the 1% state tax? 

 
A. No. The lower state rate is only available if an individual 85 years of age or older 

provides proof of age at the time of purchase. 
 

5. Q.  Are purchases of general use items (e.g., linens, clothes, or medical supplies not 
otherwise exempt) at the request of an individual age 85 and older for his own use 
made by another individual, such as by a family member or a caretaker, allowed 
the reduced tax rate?  
 

A. No. 
 
6. Q.  What are the reduced tax rate amounts? 
 

A. The general overview above discussed various taxes that may be imposed on 
purchases of different types of tangible personal property. A summary of the 
various state taxes and rate amounts and the tax rate amounts that apply to 
individuals 85 and older is provided below. A discussion of each of the various 
taxes imposed on common purchases made by individuals age 85 and older and 
the applicable tax rate follows in the remainder of this advisory opinion. 
  

Tax Type on Common Purchases General State 
Tax Rate* 

Tax Rate for 
Individuals 85 and 
Older* 

Local Tax 
Applicable 
to All Ages 

Sales Tax (General purchases) 6% 5% Yes 
Use Tax (General purchases) 6% 5% Yes 
Items Specifically Exempt from 
Sales and Use Tax (e.g., medicine 
sold by prescription, electricity) 

0% 0% No 

Sales Tax on Accommodations 7% 6% Yes 

Sales Tax on Additional Guest 
Charges 

6% 5% Yes 

$300 Cap - Maximum Sales and 
Use Tax on Certain Items (e.g., 
motor vehicles) 

5%, not to 
exceed $300 

4%, not to exceed 
$300 

No 

Casual Excise Tax on Maximum 
Tax Items Sold by Non-retailers 
(e.g., motor vehicles) 

5%, not to 
exceed $300 
 

4%, not to exceed 
$300 
 

No 
 

Casual Excise Tax on Boat Motors 
Sold Alone 

6% 5% Yes 

*These are the state tax rates as of the date this document was published.  
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7. Q. Does the lower tax rate available to individuals 85 years of age or older also apply 
to reduce local taxes?  

 
A. No. The 1% sales and use tax rate reduction does not apply to local taxes 

administered and collected by the Department on behalf of local jurisdictions or to 
local sales taxes administered and collected directly by a city or county (i.e., the 
local hospitality tax/fee on prepared meals and food or the local accommodations 
tax/fee). 

 
PART 2 - APPLICABILITY TO COMMON PURCHASES 
 
8. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases tangible personal property at 

retail for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
 

A. In general, an individual 85 years of age or older who purchases tangible personal 
property at retail for his personal use would pay a state sales and use tax rate of 
5% (instead of the 6% rate applicable to all other persons), plus any applicable 
local sales and use tax. Certain exceptions exist to this general rule and are 
discussed through this document. 
 
Examples of purchases of tangible personal property subject to this 5% rate 
(instead of the general 6% sales and use tax rate applicable to all other persons) 
include, but are not limited to: 

 
• Clothing 
• Clothing accessories, such as handbags, scarves, hats and hosiery  
• Jewelry and watches 
• Cosmetics and toiletries, such as soap and tissues  
• Household supplies, such as cleaning supplies, light bulbs, and toiletries 
• Household items, such as draperies and rugs 
• Furniture, such as sofas, chairs, tables, and lamps 
• Appliances, such as refrigerators, washers, dryers, and microwave ovens 
• Electronics, such as cell phones, televisions, computers, and computer 

accessories 
• Car tires and batteries 
• Communication services, such as cable or internet television.  

 
Food Purchases 
 
9. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases “unprepared food” at retail for 

his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
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A. Purchases of “unprepared food” (i.e., the type that can be purchased with food 
stamps)7 by all individuals are exempt from the state sales and use tax. Such 
purchases, however, are subject to any applicable local sales and use tax (unless 
the local tax law specifically exempts the sale of unprepared food). 
 
Examples of foods that are exempt from the state sales and use tax (i.e., 
“unprepared food”) include: 

 
• Any food intended to be eaten at home by people, including snacks, 

beverages and seasonings 
• Seeds and plants intended to grow food (not birdseed or seeds to grow 

flowers) 
• Cold items, which may include salads or sandwiches, intended to be eaten 

at home by people and that are not considered “prepared meals or food” as 
discussed below. 

 
The term “unprepared” food does not include: 
 

● Meals and food sold by a restaurant, cafeteria, lunch wagon, or other similar 
places or businesses engaged in the business of selling prepared meals or 
food for immediate consumption;  

● Meals prepared and delivered by a meal delivery service;  
● Meals sold to or at congregate meal sites; or  
● Meals and food sold at a grocery store, convenience store or any other 

similar store for the purpose of eating at or near the store, such as meals and 
food sold with eating utensils (e.g., plates, knives, forks, spoons, cups, 
napkins) provided by the seller.  

 
Examples of foods that are not exempt from the state sales and use tax (i.e., 
“prepared food”) and, therefore, are subject to the state sales and use tax at the 
state rate of 5% for individuals 85 years of age or older (6% rate for all other 
persons) are: 

 
• Hot foods ready to eat 
• Hot beverages ready-to-drink, such as coffee 
• Alcoholic beverages, such as beer, wine, or liquor 
• Tobacco 
• Foods designed to be heated in the store 
• Hot and cold food to be eaten at a lunch counter, in a dining area or 

anywhere else in the store, or in a nearby area, such as a mall food court  
• “Prepared meals or food” as defined in Regulation 117-337.2 
• Vitamins and medicines not sold by prescription.  

 

                                                           
7See SC Code Section 12-36-2120(75) and SC Regulation 117-337, “Sales of Unprepared Food”. The 
unprepared food item does not have to be actually purchased with food stamps to qualify for the exemption. 



7 

10. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases a prepared food or meal at 
retail at a restaurant or similar place for his personal use, what tax rate is 
applicable to the purchase? 

 
A. An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases a prepared food or meal at 

retail at a restaurant or similar place for his personal use would pay a state sales 
tax rate of 5% (instead of the 6% rate applicable to all other persons), plus any 
applicable local sales tax. 

 
Note: In addition to the 6% state sales tax on food purchases (5% for individuals 
85 years of age and older) and any local tax administered and collected by the 
Department on behalf of local jurisdictions, some cities and counties impose a 
local hospitality tax on prepared meals and beverages that must be paid by 
persons of all ages.  

 
Medicines 
 
11. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases at retail prescription medicines 

from a pharmacy (as a result of a physician’s prescription) for his personal use, 
what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 

 
A. Purchases at retail of prescription medicines from a pharmacy (as a result of a 

physician’s prescription) are exempt from state and local sales and use taxes 
under Code Section 12-36-2120(28). This includes purchases of prescription 
medicines from a mail order or internet pharmacy as well as a local pharmacy. 

 
12. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases at retail over-the-counter 

medicines (e.g., aspirin) for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the 
purchase? 

 
A. An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases at retail over-the-counter 

medicines (e.g., aspirin) for his personal use would pay a state sales and use tax 
rate of 5% (instead of the 6% rate applicable to all other persons), plus any 
applicable local sales and use tax. 

 
Diabetic Supplies 
 
13. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older who is a diabetic purchases at retail 

hypodermic needles, insulin, alcohol swabs, blood sugar testing strips, monolet 
lancets, dextrometer supplies, blood glucose meters, and other similar diabetic 
supplies under the written authorization and direction of a physician for his 
personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 

 
A. Purchases by a diabetic of hypodermic needles, insulin, alcohol swabs, blood 

sugar testing strips, monolet lancets, dextrometer supplies, blood glucose meters, 
and other similar diabetic supplies under the written authorization and direction of 
a physician are exempt from state and local sales and use taxes under Code 
Section 12-21-2120(28). 
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Other Medical Supplies, Durable Medical Equipment, and Health Care Items 
 
14. Q.  If an individual purchases medical supplies and equipment for his personal use, 

what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
 

A. An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases medical supplies for his 
personal use that are not specifically exempt from sales and use tax would pay a 
state sales and use tax rate of 5% (instead of the 6% rate applicable to all other 
persons), plus any applicable local sales and use tax. See Code Section 12-36-
2120(28), (38), (63), and (74) and SC Revenue Ruling #11-3 for additional 
guidance on specific exemptions.  

 
Gifts 
 
15. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases a gift for another individual or 

for business use, what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
 

A. An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases a gift for another individual 
or for business use would pay a state sales and use tax rate of 6%, plus any 
applicable local sales and use tax. The item is not subject to the lower state rate 
since the gift or item purchased as a gift is not for the personal use of the 
individual 85 years of age or older. 

 
16. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older receives a gift purchased by another 

individual, what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
 

A. An individual who purchases a gift for an individual 85 years of age or older 
would pay a state sales and use tax rate of 6%, plus any applicable local sales and 
use tax, since the item was not purchased by an individual 85 years of age or older 
for his own personal use. 

 
Residential Electricity Purchases 
 
17. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases electricity at retail for 

residential purposes for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the 
purchase? 

 
A. Purchases of electricity at retail for residential purposes are exempt from state and 

local sales and use taxes under Code Section 12-36-2120(33) for persons of all 
ages. 
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Communications Services (Telephone, Cable TV, Etc.)8 
 
18. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases communication services at 

retail such as telephone services, cable and satellite television services, radio or 
emergency services for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the 
purchase? 

 
A. An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases communication services at 

retail such as telephone services, cable television services, and satellite television, 
radio or emergency services for his personal use would pay a state sales and use 
tax rate of 5% (instead of the 6% rate applicable to all other persons), plus any 
applicable local sales and use tax. 

 
Examples of purchases of communication services9 subject to this 5% rate 
(instead of the 6% rate applicable to all other persons) include, but are not limited 
to: 

 
• Telephone services (Note: Charges for long distance calls are exempt from 

the sales and use tax for persons of all ages) 
• Cable television services 
• Satellite programming services and other programming transmission 

services (includes, but is not limited to, emergency communication 
services and television, radio, music or other programming services) 

• Fax transmission services 
• Email services 
• Database access transmission services (online information services), such 

as charges to access an individual website (e.g., monthly charges to access 
a sports website). 

 
Laundry and Drycleaning Purchases10 
 
19. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases laundry and drycleaning 

services at retail for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
 

A. An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases laundry and drycleaning 
services at retail for his personal use would pay a state sales and use tax rate of 
5% (instead of the 6% rate applicable to all other persons), plus any applicable 
local sales and use tax. 
 
Note: Some drycleaning facilities must also charge a 1% environmental surcharge 
on charges for laundry and drycleaning services under Code Section 44-56-450. 
This surcharge paid by an individual 85 years of age and older is not eligible for 
the 1% sales and use tax rate reduction. 

                                                           
8 Code Section 12-36-910(B)(3). 
9 Other charges and fees may apply that are not discussed in this document.  
10 Code Section 12-36-910(B)(1). 
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Sleeping Accommodations (Hotels, Motels, Condominium Rentals)11 
 
20. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases at retail sleeping 

accommodations for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
 

A. Charges for accommodations at hotels, motels, campgrounds and any other place 
where sleeping accommodations are furnished are subject to the sales tax; 
however, charges for sleeping accommodations supplied to the same person for a 
period of 90 or more continuous days are not subject to the sales tax on 
accommodations. 
 
An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases sleeping accommodations 
for less than 90 continuous days for his personal use would pay a state sales and 
use tax rate of 6% (instead of the 7% tax rate applicable to all other persons), plus 
any applicable local sales and use tax. 
 
Note: In addition to the 7% state tax (6% for individuals 85 years of age and 
older) and any local tax administered and collected by the Department on behalf 
of local jurisdictions, some cities and counties impose a local accommodations tax 
on sleeping accommodations. 

 
21. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older pays for “additional guest charges” that 

were for his personal use at a place that furnishes sleeping accommodations 
subject to the sales tax on accommodations, what tax rate is applicable to these 
“additional guest charges?” 

 
A.  An individual 85 years of age or older paying for “additional guest charges” that 

were for his personal use at a place that furnishes sleeping accommodations 
subject to the sales tax on accommodations would pay a state sales and use tax 
rate of 5% (instead of the 6% tax rate applicable to all other persons), plus any 
applicable local sales and use tax. 
 
 “Additional guest charges” include: 

• Room service; 
• Laundering and drycleaning services; 
• In-room movies; and 
• Telephone service. 

 
Motor Vehicle Purchases, Leases and Rentals12 
 
22. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older purchases at retail a motor vehicle for his 

personal use, what state sales and use tax rate is applicable to the purchase? 
 
                                                           
11 Code Section 12-36-920 and SC Regulation 117-307, “Hotels, Motels, and Similar Facilities”. 
12 Code Section 12-36-2110. 
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A. An individual 85 years of age or older who purchases at retail a motor vehicle for 
his personal use would pay a state sales and use tax rate of 4% (instead of the 
5%13 rate applicable to all other persons purchasing this maximum tax item). 
 
The 4% tax rate is applied to the sales price (less any applicable trade-in) of the 
motor vehicle and if the tax as calculated exceeds the $300 maximum tax the 
individual 85 years of age or older would only pay $300. 
 
Note: Local sales and use taxes do not apply to purchases of a motor vehicle 
subject to the $300 maximum tax.  

 
23. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older leases at retail a motor vehicle for more 

than 90 continuous days for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the 
lease? 

 
A. An individual 85 years of age or older who leases at retail a motor vehicle for 

more than 90 continuous days for his personal use would pay a state sales and use 
tax rate of 4% (instead of the 5% tax rate applicable to all other persons leasing a 
motor vehicle for more than 90 continuous days) and would pay no more than the 
$300 maximum tax, provided the lease was in writing, stated a term of more than 
90 continuous days, and remained in force for more than 90 continuous days. 
Local sales and use taxes do not apply to leases of motor vehicles that meet these 
requirements. 
 
The 4% tax rate is applied to each lease payment until the total tax paid equals 
$300; however, the law allows the entire $300 to be paid at the time the lease is 
executed. 
 
Note: If the lease is not in writing, or does not state a term of more than 90 
continuous days, or does not remain in force for more than 90 continuous days, 
then the individual 85 years of age or older would pay a state sales and use tax 
rate of 5% (instead of the 6% tax rate applicable to all other persons) and the 
applicable local sales and use taxes. In addition, the $300 maximum tax would not 
apply to the lease. 

 
24. Q. If an individual 85 years of age or older rents at retail a motor vehicle for 90 or 

less continuous days for his personal use, what tax rate is applicable to the rental? 
 

A. An individual 85 years of age or older who rents at retail a motor vehicle for 90 or 
less continuous days for his personal use would pay a state sales and use tax rate 
of 5% (instead of the 6% tax rate applicable to all other persons), plus any 
applicable local sales and use tax. 
 

                                                           
13 Code Section 12-36-1110 increased the state sales tax rate from 5% to 6% beginning June 2007. This 
provision, however, does not apply to the sale or lease of tangible personal property subject to the 
maximum tax.  
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PART 3 – RETAILER REQUIREMENTS  
 
25. Q. What responsibilities does a retailer have with respect to the law that provides the 

lower state sales and use tax rate for sales to individuals 85 years of age or older? 
 

A. Retailers are required to post a sign at each entrance or each cash register which 
advises individuals 85 years of age or older of the lower state sales and use tax 
rate available to them. The signs posted will generally refer to a “1% reduction” 
from the state sales and use tax.  

 
26. Q. What if a retailer fails to post the sign? 
 

A. A retailer who fails to post the required signs is subject to a penalty of up to $100 
for each month or portion of the month the sign or signs are not posted. Continued 
failure to post the signs after a written warning from the Department may result in 
revocation of the retailer’s retail license. 
 
Note: Failure to post the signs does not give rise to a cause of action by an 
individual 85 years of age or older who failed to request the exclusion and provide 
proof of age at the time of sale. 
 
 

PART 4 –EXAMPLES AND ADDITIONAL GUIDANCE 
 
27. Q.  Where can additional information be obtained about the lower state tax rates? 
 

A.  The chart below provides a summary of general information about the 1% rate 
reduction. For further information about South Carolina’s sales and use tax, see 
the Department’s website at www.dor.sc.gov. 

 
    SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
 
 
 
    s/Rick Reames III 
    Rick Reames III, Director 
 
July 17                     , 2016 
Columbia, South Carolina 

http://www.dor.sc.gov/
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SUMMARY CHART 
 
This chart is intended only as general guidance. Any purchases that come within a 
specific exemption are not subject to the tax (e.g., prescription medicine, purchases of 
clothing or computers during the annual sales tax holiday, and residential electricity). 
 

State Sales and Use Tax Rates for Purchases  
by Individuals 85 Years of Age and Older 

 
 

Type of Purchase Examples State 
Rate 

State Rate for 
Individuals 85 
Years of Age 

and Older 

Local Sales 
and Use Tax 

General Items 
(Except as noted 
below) 

clothes, household 
items, cosmetics, 
appliances, electronics, 
cleaning supplies, etc. 

6% 5% Applicable 

Unprepared Food grocery staples, canned 
goods, meat, milk, 
breads, soft drinks, etc. 

0% 0% Applicable, 
unless 
otherwise 
exempt 
under the 
local law 

Prepared Food restaurant foods and 
meals 

6% 5% Applicable 

Medicines prescription medicines 
sold by prescription 
 
over-the-counter 
medicines 

0% 
 
 
6% 

0% 
 
 
5% 

0% 
 
 
Applicable 

Residential 
Electricity and 
Gas 

------------- 0% 0% 0% 

Communications 
Services 

local telephone service, 
cable TV service 

6% 5% Applicable 

Drycleaning store pick-up or home 
delivery 

6% 5% Applicable 

Accommodations 
Charges 

room charges 
 
additional guest charges 

7% 
 
6% 

6% 
 
5% 

Applicable 
 
Applicable 

Items Subject to 
the $300 
Maximum Tax 

cars, boats 5%, but 
no more 
than $300 

4%, but no 
more than $300 

0% 


